Picture
The phrase "I'm having a Morpheus moment" shall henceforth mean "to experience deja vu." Why?  Because I just had a Morpheus moment, and my mind went there.  It may have something to do with that scene in The Matrix when Neo sees a black cat and does a double take, seeing the exact same cat do the exact same thing.  This, by the way, isn't exactly deja vu, is it? 

I've heard many theories about what deja vu is.  Share your own Morpheus moments and/or thoughts on what they are or mean. 

Ashli P. Period 2
2/20/2013 01:47:49 pm

So, I have these all the time. Ever since I was little I would have a dream and days, weeks, months, sometimes even years later it would happen. Last time one came true was finals week, I was in a classroom I didn't recognize and I was staring at this seemingly endless test that was talking about cells or something. I remembered that I had had this dream two years beforehand and I hadn't recognized it until then. Before that was this summer four days before the end of season swim team party. I had dreamt that a girl (who I shall not name) came up and started talking to me about if I'd seen Magic Mike yet. when this happened in real life I recognized her swimsuit and her towel, which looked like a wrapper for normal, plain, milk chocolate M&Ms. I don't know why all this happens but for some reason it does. And it's really weird.

Reply
Tanabe
2/21/2013 02:50:08 am

Thanks, Ashli. I think it's interesting that you say Morpheus Moments happen for a reason. I personally believe they are linked more or less directly to our dreams, which means, according to you, that dreams also have meaning in our lives. I, for one, would like to think this is true.

..even if they are about M&Ms and Channing Tatum.

Reply
Daniela Sanchez
2/22/2013 08:21:50 am

My Morpheus moment actually happened a year ago. The night before I had the strangest dream where my Mom was pregnet. I awoke that morning thinking to myself, " why would I dream of that." I told my Mom about it and to my horror she told me that she was two months pregnet. (Not that I was actually horrified that she was having a baby). I was just shocked that my dream had actually became a reality. Anyhow that explains my Morpheus moment.

Reply
Tanabe
2/24/2013 03:10:54 am

Daniela,
Sounds like a premonitory dream. I've heard of people who have premonitions..my grandma had them often. I can't say that I've experienced any myself. I think you can consider that a special power...

thanks for the post!

Reply
3/11/2013 10:53:38 am

My Morpheus moment was at CET (Children's Educational Theater) summer camp when I was in 4th grade. I was in a mask making class we were putting strips of plaster and cloth on our faces so the masks could fit us. I was walking around the classroom and I had my Morpheus moment it was so intense and so familiar. And I knew something bad would happen if I went around the room one direction so I deliberately went the other way to avoid it and everything turned out fine. That entire day though I thought about that intense Morpheus moment. I was also thinking of what I would make my masks look like I painted a sun on one and made the other one into a dog. With a pair of ears, a tongue, and a pair of bushy eyebrows.

Reply
Tanabe
3/14/2013 03:46:58 am

Wow, that's awesome. Having a feeling that strong and leaving you so sure about something is a crazy feeling, isn't it?

..and your masks sound very nice, too. I was also involved with CET when I was young & I loved it.

Reply
Pilar Alejandro
3/12/2013 12:59:16 pm

I have deja vu moments all the time and im always left wondering if i have already did this before. Sometimes when im having a conversation with someone i suddenly have this feeling that we had this conversation before. I heard it has something to do with your dreams, like you have dreams and then later on in life it comes true but your left thinking that you have already experienced that situation before. One explanation ive heard is deja vu can be a bit like a photogenic image, you see it before you've think you've seen it and your mind then interprets this as you seeing it long before. It's confusing but i guess well never really know if deja vu is real or not.

Reply
Tanabe
3/14/2013 03:40:41 am

Very interesting! I may have to look into that...

Reply
Sandy Childress
5/26/2013 02:53:45 pm

I think deja vu is a feeling that the thing you have just done or seen has happened exactly the same way before, and it feels like you just time traveled and are re-living a scene from your past.

Reply
Nick Wolfert
5/30/2013 01:15:14 pm

Sometimes I think that I really have seen something before without a doubt. This is most likely due to me recalling something that happened in the past and my mind relates it to events occurring in front of me. I don't think this is the same as regular deja vu, where the mind thinks what is happening in the now should be viewed as reverie, because if I tried hard enough I might be able to remember the time linked to it. Come to think of it, I had deja vu in your class just last week! Funny...I don't remember what it was, but it just gave me the feeling, and I could swear it happened to me before.

Reply
David Henderson
6/2/2013 01:44:30 pm

I have Morpheus moments quite often, more so when I'm tired. Most people see them for the “magic,” but I actually see them for the science. When you have a Morpheus moment, a section of your brain (let's call this section A) actually slows down while another section (section B) continues at a normal pace. Thus, this is why it happens to me more often when I'm tired. When section A of your brain speeds back up, it needs to catch up with the rest of the brain, thus causing you to experience the same moment twice: Once when section B processes it, and once when section A processes it. It's quite a fascinating experience, and I always think back to this explanation. I believe that Vsauce on YouTube has a video on it if any of you would like to get a more in depth explanation of it.

Or, we could all be wrong and we really are in the Matrix after all...

David Henderson
Period 2
6/2/13

Reply
Maddy Kelley
6/10/2013 01:50:43 am

I literally have deja vu all the time! Almost everyday I'll experience a Morpheus moment. I had one the other day when I was with my family and we were all sitting around the table having a good time and we had a conversation that I know I've heard/had before. Then I thought about it more and I remembered having this same deja vu moment before with the same conversation. It was like a double deja vu! It wasn't just the same conversation but with that exact family sitting in those exact spots at the table! It weirded me out so much. I didn't know if this actually had happened before or if I was dreaming. I deffinatley was not dreaming though so I always just come to the conclusion that this hasn't happened before but maybe something similar that sparked a memory. I use to believe the same thing happened to me in a past life but now I doubt that. I think it's just a weird thing in your brain that makes us think that it's already happened. Then again maybe it has..... I guess you never know for sure.

Reply
Alyx Peterson
6/12/2013 05:49:46 am

Deja Vu commonly occurs in my life. I can never remember the exact scenario I just recollected but every time it happens I feel like Raven Samone from "Thats so Raven" when she has her visions haha! But, I read this article in middle school on what deja vu really is and many people believe deja vu has been firmly associated with temporal-lobe epilepsy. Reportedly, deja vu can occur just prior to a temporal-lobe seizure.(thats really scary) People suffering a seizure of this kind can experience deja vu during the actual seizure activity or in the moments between convulsions. WOW. Apparently it can happen in people with and without a medical condition. I think its mismatching in the brain that causes the brain to mistake the present for the past. I think its a weird thing to think about but it interests me because it happens all the time. Maybe its real, maybe its not.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Hold Up!

    Dear students - 
    Remember, you can comment on any post as long as it is still visible on this page.  Archived posts have sailed.  I award 5 points per comment (only 1 per post please). 

    Also - you may earn up to 25 points extra credit for the semester.  Anything beyond 5 comments is certainly welcome & encouraged, but will gain you no extra points. 

    The quality and thoughtfulness of your comments will be considered during review.

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013

    Categories

    All